Improve your English by learning songs (Mejora tu Inglés aprendiendo canciones)

Improve your English by learning songs (Mejora tu Inglés aprendiendo canciones)

English version

Yes, my friends! That is how I improved my English a lot when I was 13-14 years old. I remember that some years before, I felt so happy to have my very own music cassette. It was Madonna’s album Who’s that girl? And I have loved Madonna since then, well, I always will. However, years later, I also became a big fan of the rock band Aerosmith and I got myself their album Get a Grip, also in cassette format. I remember playing it for the first time in my dad’s car, just after having bought it and both my parents asked me: “But do you really like this music?????” “Yes!!!” was my answer and I memorised the lyrics of all the songs, looked up in the dictionary the words I didn’t know and later, I continued with other albums.

Yes, I was good at English in school, so I didn’t find it very difficult to memorise, pronounce and sing the lyrics. I found it fun!

So, I always teach my students songs that I like, that I think they will like or that are related to the unit we are studing at that moment or to a specific grammar point, specific vocabulary, etc.

I am teaching English to my nephews now and I thought that they would like the song Can’t stop the Feeling! by Justin Timberlake. I love it myself, so it was a very good excuse to listen to it many times and watch Justin dance in his vid!

I prepared two exercises: One with questions about the really nice video and another to complete the lyrics with words that I made disappear. I share below the link to the video and the two exercises. Enjoy!

 

can.t.stop.the.feeling.justin.timberlake

 

Spanish version

Sí, amigas/os mías/os! Así es como yo mejoré mi Inglés un montón cuando tenía 13-14 años. Recuerdo que algunos años antes, me sentí súper feliz de tener mi primera cinta de música. Era el álbum de Madonna Who’s that Girl. Y me ha encantado Madonna desde entonces, bueno, siempre me encantará. Sin embargo, años después, también me hice muy fan del grupo de rock Aerosmith y me compré su álbum Get a Grip, también en cinta. Recuerdo ponerla por primera vez en el coche de mi padre, justo después  de haberla comprado y tanto mi padre como mi madre me preguntaron: “Pero de verdad te gusta esta música????” “Sí!!!” fue mi respuesta y me aprendí las letras de todas las canciones. Busqué en el diccionario las palabras que no entendía y luego, continué con otros álbums.

Sí, el Inglés se me daba bien cuando estaba en el colegio, así que, no me parecía difícil memorizar, pronunciar y cantar las letras. Me parecía divertido!!

Así que, siempre enseño a mis alumnos  canciones que me gustan, que creo que les gustarán a ellos o que están relacionadas con la unidad que estamos estudiando en ese momento o con algún punto de gramática específico,  vocabulario específico, etc.

Estoy enseñando Inglés a mis sobrinos ahora y pensé que les gustaría aprender la canción Can’t stop the Feeling de Justin Timberlake . A mí, personalmente me encanta, así que me pareció una muy buena excusa para escucharla muchas veces y ver a Justin bailar en su vídeo!

Preparé dos ejercicios: Uno con preguntas sobre el genial vídeo y otro para completar la letra con palabras que yo hice desaparacer. Abajo comparto el enlace al vídeo y los dos ejercicios. Que los disfrutéis!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Responder

