Why be a teacher if I will earn more money working as a cleaner? (¿Por qué ser profesora si ganaré más dinero trabajando como limpiadora?)

Why be a teacher if I will earn more money working as a cleaner? (¿Por qué ser profesora si ganaré más dinero trabajando como limpiadora?)

English version

Yes, I swear! I didn’t know about this, but many people have been telling me for some time, that cleaners earn 10 euros/ hour. So, congrats!!!Well done, cleaners of the world!!I have worked as a teacher for more than 16 years now, for private academies and state schools, and regarding private academies of languages, I have never worked for any of them nor have I been to any job interview applying for a position of teacher of English or Spanish in which I have been offered more than 12-13 euros/hour neat 😦

Although, it is 2 or 3 euros more, If I work as a cleaner, as Inma, a friend of mine and also angry teach, says, “I will finish my timetable the minute I drop the mop”, but if I work as a teacher, when I drop the eraser in my classroom, I have to go back home to continue working because I have to correct my students’ exams or writings and I also have to prepare the lessons for the next day, always for different levels and, many times, although you can adapt some activities, that is not always possible…

Surprised-Teacher.jpg

 

So, why be a teacher when I can be a cleaner? The last job interviews that I have had have been so surreal and I have felt so humiliated that I have sent my curriculum vitae to several cleaning agencies in order to work as a cleaner. As a teacher, these last months, I have been offered, by some academies, 8 euros/ hour neat, I am living in Valladolid now, always with the contractor’s remark and emphasis on the need to hire a very competent teacher with a lot of experience or the stupid idea that I will have time to correct all my students’ homework while they do another activity and that as I am an experienced teacher, I don’t need to prepare my lessons. Whaaaaaat???? I am an angry bird!!!Sorry, an angry teacher!!!

No matter in which city of Spain I live, I am sure, it is the same in every corner of our country. I have worked in several cities within Spain, the majority of time in Madrid, and although it is the capital city, the conditions, at least for me,  have not been better than in other cities (I repeat, in private academies).

Just to finish, one rhetorical question….Why do cleaning agencies show the salary they pay and not academies????Beacuse these last mentioned are ashamed of what they pay!!Because they know it is a humilation to all teachers and they don’t want the world to know the rubbish conditions they are offering!!!

So, below, you can find the link to one of the cleaning agencies to which I have sent my cv and in which you can see how much money the people who require a cleaner want to pay. If you find any web page from any academy in Spain where they specify how much they pay their teachers, please, send me the link 😉

https://clintu.es/tarifas/

 

Spanish version

¡Sí, lo juro! Yo no lo sabía, pero mucha gente me ha estado diciendo durante un tiempo, que las limpiadoras ganan 10 euros/hora. Así que, Enhorabuena! Bien hecho, limpiadoras del mundo! He trabajdo como profesora durante más de 16 años ahora, para academias privadas y escuelas públicas y en lo que se refiere a academias privadas de idiomas, nunca he trabajado para ninguna de ellas ni he estado en ninguna entrevista de trabajo solicitando un puesto de profesora de Inglés o de Español en la que me hayan ofrecido más de 12-13 euros/hora netos 😦

Aunque sean 2 o 3 euros más, si trabajo como limpiadora, como Inma, una amiga mía y también profe enfadada, dice, “yo terminaré mi horario en el minuto en que suelte el mocho”, pero si trabajo como profesora, cuando suelte el borrador en mi clase, tengo que volver a casa a continuar trabajando porque tengo que corregir los exámenes o redacciones de mis alumnos/as y también tengo que preparar las clases para el próximo día, siempre para niveles diferentes y, muchas veces, aunque puedas adaptar algunas actividades, no es siempre posible….

Así que, ¿por qué ser profesora cuando puedo ser limpiadora? Las últimas entrevistas de trabajo que he tenido han sido tan surrealistas y me he sentido tan humillada que he enviado mi curriculum vitae a varias agencias de limpieza para trabajar como limpiadora. Como profesora, estos últimos meses, algunas academias me han ofrecido 8 euros/hora netos, ahora vivo en Valladolid, siempre con la observación y el énfasis del contratante en la necesidad de contratar a una profesora competente y con mucha experiencia o la estúpida idea de que tendré tiempo para corregir todas las tareas de mis alumnos mientras ellos hacen otra actividad o que, como soy una profesora experimentada, no necesito preparar mis clases. Quéeeeeeee???? Soy una chica enfadada (doble sentido en este caso, “bird” se usa a veces para referirse a las chicas en sentido coloquial. Por otro lado, “angry birds”, los famosos muñecos), perdón, una profe enfadada!!

No importa en qué ciudad de España viva, estoy segura, de que es igual en cada esquina de nuestro país. He trabajado en varias ciudades dentro de España, la mayoría del tiempo en Madrid, y aunque es la capital, las condiciones, por lo menos para mí, no han sido mejores que en otras ciudades, (repito, en academias privadas.)

Sólo para terminar, una pregunta retórica….¿Por qué las agencias de limpieza muestran el salario que ellos pagan y no las academias? ¡¡Porque estás últimas están avergonzadas de lo que pagan!! Porque saben que es una humillación para todos los profesores/as y no quieren que el mundo sepa las condiciones basura que están ofreciendo!!

Así que, abajo podéis encontrar el link a una de las agencias de limpieza a las que he enviado mi cv y en la que podéis ver cuánto dinero la gente que necesita una limpiadora quiere pagar. Si encontráis alguna página web de alguna academia en España donde especifiquen cuánto pagan a sus profesores, porfi, enviadme el link 😉

https://clintu.es/tarifas/

Responder

