Rejecting awful work conditions is the best thing I’ve done since 2017 started. I am a bit of a hippy, a bit of a hipster and a bit of a badass   (Rechazar horribles condiciones laborales es lo mejor que he hecho desde que empezó el 2017. Soy un poco hippy, un poco hipster y un poco pasota)

Rejecting awful work conditions is the best thing I’ve done since 2017 started. I am a bit of a hippy, a bit of a hipster and a bit of a badass (Rechazar horribles condiciones laborales es lo mejor que he hecho desde que empezó el 2017. Soy un poco hippy, un poco hipster y un poco pasota)

English version

Yes, I had this new year’s resolution even quite before the year started, but sometimes, we don’t have the courage to reject things that we don’t want, or the circumstances don’t allow us to do that or we just simply get along with our situation, resign ourselves and don’t bother to make a big effort and get out of our comfort zone.

But as I think I am a bit of a hippy, a bit of a hipster and a bit of a badass, so I broke with everything and changed my life 🙂 I quit my job, moved out of the Mad city (Madrid), the rat race, in search of a less stressful and expensive place, with shorter distances and a better quality of life. Enough is enough!!!

So after 10 years of eternal commuting, different jobs, job interviews, few hours of sleep, bad quality of life due to high prices of everything and low salaries, a big cultural and leisure offer but no money to enjoy all of that, and so on and so forth, I decided that, as I was broke and I had nothing to lose, I would start a new life in a smaller city. Valladolid is that city and it was not unknown to me because I studied my degree here. I have always had good memories from my time at uni and I keep several friends who studied with me. My elder sister also lives here, so I knew I was not going to be completely isolated. Plus, owing to the fact that I cannot afford to live alone, I am sharing a flat with three flatmates.

I tend to be a little impatient, so I sometimes panic and start sending my cv to a lot of places. Big mistake!! I have decided not to do it anymore…I have realised it is a waste of time and energy to go to ridiculous job interviews in which you are offered to work for a very low salary or without a contract. And I always get angry and think that I prefer to work for myself or only for very few places in which I am well paid. Last week I was interviewed by the owners of a playground and I was offered 6.5 euros/hour to do workshops with groups of 10 children!!! And I also got an e-mail from an academy of English in order to arrange a job interview. I replied and asked them to please, write down in another e-mail what my timetable would be and the most important, type of contract and salary. What was their answer? Two days later (after the interview should have taken place) they wrote back to me saying that the conditions could only be communicated to me at the interview. Do you get it? They were going to ask me to work without a contract and for very fucking little money. All this makes my blood boil….

One day, while having dinner with one of my flatmates and a friend of hers, this friend, who is a boy, told us that he is always told the salary and the work conditions before the interview. Why? Because he is a man?

But for example, tonight I have read an article in the news about the horrible conditions that apprentice cooks suffer at the most important and expensive restaurants in the world, and the majority of cooks are men. Not only do they earn a humiliating salary but they are also awfully treated by the chefs or other colleagues that have a superior position.

So what is my conclusion? That I am used to being penniless and I prefer to assert myself and reject exploitation while I have enough money just to pay the rent, my bills and my food… well, and some handbag, some tee and some lil lipstick …. 😉 Life is easier in my new city because everything is cheaper and I spend very little  money. I will be strong as long as I can.

IMG-20150721-WA0001.jpg

Spanish version

Sí, tenía este propósito para el nuevo año incluso bastante antes de que el año empezara, pero a veces no tenemos el coraje para rechazar cosas que no queremos, o las circunstancias no nos permiten hacerlo o simplemente, nos conformamos con nuestra situación, nos resignamos y no nos molestamos en hacer un gran esfuerzo y salir de nuestra zona de confort.

Pero como creo que soy un poco hippy, un poco hipster y un poco pasota, pues rompí con todo y cambié mi vida :). Dejé mi trabajo, me fui de la Mad city (la loca ciudad) Madrid, la  carrera de ratas, en busca de un sitio menos estresante y menos caro, con distancias más cortas y una mejor calidad de vida. Ya está bien!!

Así que después de 10 años de eternos desplazamientos al trabajo, diferentes empleos, entrevistas, pocas horas de sueño, mala calidad de vida, debido a los altos precios de todo y a los bajos salarios, a la gran oferta cultural y de ocio pero la falta de dinero para disfrutar todo eso y unas cosas y otras, decidí que, como no tenía un duro ni tenía nada que perder, empezaría una nueva vida en una ciudad más pequeña. Valladolid, es esa ciudad y no era desconocida para mí porque estudié la carrera aquí. Siempre he tenido buenos recuerdos de mi tiempo en la uni y mantengo algunas amigas que estudiaron conmigo. Mi hermana mayor vive aquí también así que, no iba a estar completamente aislada. Además, debido al hecho de que no me puedo permitir vivir sola, estoy compartiendo un piso con tres compañeros/as.

Yo tiendo a ser un poco impaciente, así que a veces me entra el pánico y empiezo a enviar mi cv a muchos sitios. Gran error!! He decidido no hacerlo más… Me he dado cuenta de que es una pérdida de tiempo y de energía ir a ridículas entrevistas de trabajo en las que te ofrecen trabajar por un salario muy bajo o sin contrato. Y siempre me enfado y pienso que prefiero trabajar para mí misma o sólo para muy pocos sitios en los que me pagan bien. La semana pasada me entrevistaron los dueños de una ludoteca y me ofrecieron 6,5 euros/hora por hacer talleres con grupos de 10 niños!!! Y también recibí un e-mail de una academia de Inglés para concertar una entrevista de trabajo. Yo respondí y les pedí que por favor, escribieran en otro mail el horario que tendría y lo más importante, tipo de contrato y salario. ¿Cuál fue su respuesta? Dos días después (después de que la entrevista debiera haber tenido lugar) me escribieron diciendo que las condiciones sólo podían ser comunicadas en la entrevista. ¿Lo pilláis? Me iban a pedir que trabajara sin contrato y por una mierda de dinero. Todo esto me hierve la sangre…

Un día, mientras estaba cenando con una de mis compañeras de piso y un amigo suyo, éste nos dijo que a él siempre le dicen el sueldo y las condiciones antes de la entrevista. ¿Por qué? ¿Porque es un hombre?

Pero por ejemplo, esta noche, he leído un artículo en las noticias sobre las horribles condiciones que sufren los cocineros aprendices en los restaurantes más importantes y caros del mundo. Y la mayoría de los cocineros son hombres. No sólo tienen un salario humillante sino que también son tratados horriblemente por los chefs o por otros compañeros que tienen un puesto superior.

Así que, ¿cuál es mi conclusión? Que estoy acostumbrada a estar sin blanca y que prefiero reafirmarme y rechazar la explotación mientras tenga suficiente dinero sólo para pagar el alquiler, las facturas y la comida… bueno, y algún bolso, alguna camiseta o alguna barrita de labios…. 😉 La vida es más fácil en mi nueva ciudad porque todo es más barato y gasto muy poco dinero. Seré fuerte mientras pueda.

 

 

Responder

